“I’m making a color that nobody’s mixed before.”

After weeks and weeks of experimentation with color mixing, children started working on their final color study product!  Friends began by closing their eyes and imagined what it would be like if they only had a few colors in the world to paint with.  Children thought about places they had been that evoked vivid memories, animals and food that they loved, and objects they have seen at school or at home.

Next, friends began creating their unique colors in small plastic cups.  Friends added paint to their cups until they had a color that made them happy.  Once the color was just right, they painted a small rectangle with their paint that would be used for the final product.  Children were able to pick the number of colors they wanted to create, ultimately ranging from 2-4.  Colors were saved for the following week… stay tuned for a post about the final work!

DSCN0117

DSCN0110

Victor: I maked black. I mean I maked grey! I’m making it!  I like it!

Luca: This color looks kind of rotten.

Naomi: I’ve got an idea! Maybe if I put orange and yellow it will make gold. Elijah, is that how did you made gold?

Sebrina: I’m ready to make mines. Let’s see if mine is beautiful enough.

DSCN0084.JPG

DSCN0091.JPG

Amen: It made mint blue. Mint blue is very light.

Dafnee: I made brown. You just use all the colors to do that.

Eli: I used yellow, blue and white. Then I used a little bit of blue again. I picked them because I want to make green. I knew blue and yellow made green.

Waju: I think I need a little bit more red to be happy.

Julissa: Oooohhhh, this color is good!

Isaac: Let the color mixing wars begin! A color mixing war is something that when everyone mixes colors together!

DSCN0122

DSCN0093.JPG

Fatima: This green I made looks like turquoise. I like this. I want to use this color everyday.

Eden: I’m making a color that nobody’s mixed before.

Kwame: I made dark green. I’ve never made dark green before. I saw a juice that was dark green before.

David: White paper like colors of paint!

Jeylin: Mine looks like yogurt.  I love this so much.

Siah: I’m happy with my color. Wait, no, I’m not.  More purple and now I’m happy!

DSCN0123.JPG

DSCN0094.JPG

Katherine: I’m using all of the colors. It’s turning into rainbow colored. It’s changing to brown.

Avery: I’m not happy yet, I still feel a little mad.  I’m not happy yet.  Now mine looks like a smoothie.  I’m happy with this!

Kate: This is like chocolate milk.

Sammy: Close your eyes everybody, lets see what it is. Oh my god! Oh my gosh! A dark purple, I’m happy with it.

Anders: I like this one… it’s blood red! Zombie red. Zombie blood red.

Kourney: Look at it, I love this color. It’s purple and pink.

DSCN0086.JPG

DSCN0079.JPG

Aurora: This color looks like cake.

Elliott: I’m ready for my paper because it turned so light. Wow! It’s light orange.   It only took me all these colors to make light orange.

Kaleb: I’m sad about this color. I need to get some red a little bit.

Isabella: This is the color I wished for and wanted to make.

Amal: I like this color now. This color is amazing.

Leonel: I maked beautiful colors.

Frances: I’m mixing all of my colors into a beautiful paint that looks like a leaf color.  I love it, I love it.

DSCN0087

DSCN0114.JPG

Leave a Reply

