“I look good. That drawing is an impostor.”

As the year is winding down, friends in Pre-K work on end of the year portfolio additions, as well as reflecting on their year and their hard work.  For me this means… self portraits all week long!  I love working on self portraits with children because it’s always so exciting to see the amount of growth from fall to spring… and for Pre-K 4’s, they will have 4 portraits to compare!

Just like in the fall, we began by reading The Colors of Us by Karen Katz and discussing the different shades of colors and shapes that make up our faces.  Children observed themselves in the mirror and matched colors based on what they saw.

DSCN9037.JPG

Ra’Maya: My tooth is loose.  I’ll draw it!

Elijah: I’m the color of honey, but don’t eat me!

Christian: My skin is like chocolate.  My eyes are dark brown like night time.

DSCN9060.JPG

Nneka: My eyes look like football shapes.

Sophie: I’m drawing my hair sticking up in one spot because it’s really doing that.

Zavier: I’m looking fancy in this mirror.

DSCN9056.JPG

Zeina: I’m drawing my flower earring.  I noticed last year I didn’t have earrings.

Mae: I see five different colors on my face.

Zoe: I wasn’t even trying and it looks just like me!

DSCN9048.JPG

Andres: My eyes look like potatoes.  They are mostly round.

Elijah: All of these colors together look like myself.

William: I see three colors on my face like cinnamon, tan and chocolate.

DSCN9036

Waju: Look what I did… it’s me!

Reese: My hair is curly so I have to draw bumps.

Marquis: I look good.  That drawing is an impostor.

DSCN9045.JPG

Kavalli: A mirror makes another you that’s doing the same stuff you’re doing.

Naomi: Stop copying me, Naomi in the mirror!

Jariel: My skin is a little bit brown, like peach brown.

DSCN9043.JPG

William: Whoa, Reese’s self portrait looks like the real her!

Iris: I’m making the little freckle next to my eye.  That’s a detail.

DSCN9052.JPG

Below are a handful of self portraits from the fall and spring… check out all those details!  Apologies for scanning them in backwards, so fall is on the right and the most recent ones from spring are on the left!

0346_0010347_0010348_0010349_0010350_0010351_0010352_0010353_0010354_0010355_0010356_0010357_0010358_0010359_0010360_0010361_001

2 thoughts on ““I look good. That drawing is an impostor.”

  1. Love this! So great to see the changes between fall and spring!

    From: Pre-K Art Stars! <comment-reply@wordpress.com>
    Reply-To: Pre-K Art Stars! <comment+7hdepoiy7aby0_ks3p1se8v@comment.wordpress.com>
    Date: Friday, May 27, 2016 at 1:14 PM
    To: Joshua Shannon <shannon1@umd.edu>
    Subject: [New post] “I look good. That drawing is an impostor.”

    dcushner posted: “As the year is winding down, friends in Pre-K work on end of the year portfolio additions, as well as reflecting on their year and their hard work. For me this means… self portraits all week long! I love working on self portraits with children because”

Leave a Reply

