“I make a snake with legs…he’s a transformer. Now he’s a juice box!”

Rose Red and Lavender Purple groups have been continuing to work on sculptures, and have been using a variety of materials to help them working three-dimensionally.  Children spent more time creating sculptures with clay, and learned how to use a wire cutter to safely remove sculptures from the table.

Christian: The wire cutter looks like a jumprope.  It goes under the clay and it cut it a little bit off the table.

Adriana: It looks like a rope and a cutter.

Alli: It was easy to use it to pull the clay.  You didn’t know I could use it?

DSCN8511.JPG

Esther: When you bend the wire, it looks like a rainbow.

Amal: Wow, it’s working!  It did!  It’s not stuck to the table.

Naomi: The wire cutter looks like a spider web.

DSCN8520.JPG

Amen: It looks like a puller.  I’m being responsible.  It’s not on the table now.

Jariel: It looks like a fishing hook!

Children used new tools to draw in clay, followed by collage materials to add details to their sculptures.

DSCN8464.JPG

DSCN8503

DSCN8474.JPG

Kavalli: I make a snake with legs.  He’s a transformer.  Now he’s a juice box!

Dennis: I making pizza.  Happy birthday pizza.

Autumn: It’s a seahorse.  Poke it, it moves.

DSCN8467.JPG

DSCN8513.JPG

DSCN8505

Jariel: This is Jimmy.  Jimmy likes to surf, but he lost his legs.  We need to take him to the doctor.  That’s his brother.  Now I need to make the baby, his name is Jayden.  Don’t eat him, or he will cry.  Don’t forget his little arms.  He wants to play.

Konone: I’m making a hot dog with fruit on top.  The sparkles are the fruit on top.

Jax: I found my bird.  He’s over here.  We have to use more sparkles.  I think he’s done now, he’s sleeping.  Wow, a new hat for the birdie!

DSCN8486

DSCN8497.JPG

Christian: I wrote my name in the clay.  Now I’ll squish it and make it like a flat pancake!

Bennett: It’s a snake.  It can just slither around… so strange.

Siah: It looks like the letter “I” and I can make an “S” like Siah!

DSCN8477

DSCN8549

DSCN8591.JPG

The following week, children worked with Model Magic to create sculptures.  Friends used dot markers while they worked to change the color of their Model Magic.  Children enjoyed mixing and blending colors to enhance their work!

DSCN8599.JPG

DSCN8608.JPG

Christian: I know, that’s Model Magic.  I could see M-O-D-E-L M-A-G-I-C and that says Model Magic.

Sophia: I likes it.

Amy: It feels good.  It feels smooth.

Amal: Model Magic is stretchy like a band-aid.

DSCN8605.JPG

DSCN8604

Christian: I’m making a Sonic snowman, isn’t that fun?  He’s a hedgehog, like a porkypine.  Now I can make his friend Tails!

Belen: I made two friends.  Best friends.  They are best friends forever.  They playing hide and seek.

Cory: When you pull it apart, it looks like a mustache.

DSCN8621.JPG

Over the next few weeks, children will be working on wooden sculptures.  Stay tuned for an update!

Leave a Reply

