“I’m using my eagle eyes, but I still don’t know what it is!”

In preparation for looms to be added to the art area on the Pre-K playground, we started practicing with them in the Studio!

DSCN8181

Friends made predictions about what they thought a loom was…

Cathy: A tiger, because it has black stripes.

Mae: Is it a musical instrument that doesn’t make a song?

Miguel: If you pull on one string and it hits another string it might make a sound.  Is it a string xylophone?

Adrian: Is it called scaffolding?

William: A net to catch tigers.

Eli: A spiderweb.

Luke: I remember from last year we used it, is it called a baloom?

Greyson: I’m using my eagle eyes, but I still don’t know what it is!

Nneka: I heard about weaving in Africa!

DSCN8216

And what it could be used for…

Mae: I want to know, can we weave underwear?

Ra’Maya: Can we weave pajamas?

Iris: Could you make it into a coaster?

Miguel: Could I make a little shirt for my little sister?

Destynee: Blankets for the doll baby.

Before friends began weaving on the classroom loom, children used small paper looms to learn the technique.  Friends used skinny strips of paper and wove them over and under the slits in the paper loom, which created a pattern.

DSCN8229

DSCN8183

DSCN8208.JPG

Justin: Over, between, over, between.

Naomi: It’s like a spiders web that’s so colorful.

Autumn: It’s like you go over the hill.

DSCN8191

After practicing on paper looms, friends began weaving on the classroom loom!

DSCN8203

DSCN8214

DSCN8242

DSCN8252

We can’t wait to start weaving on the playground next week!

Leave a Reply

