“Why is the back hot but the front cold?”

As many of you know, CCPCS was without air conditioning for a couple of weeks.  The Studio gets direct sunlight for the majority of the day, which is typically great, but made the room incredibly hot.  I brought in a fan as a way to cool down the classroom a bit, and children ended up having so many great questions about it…

How does it move by itself?

Why is the back hot but the front cold?

Are pinwheels sharp when they go fast?

What do the buttons do?

Can it dry my project?

DSCN7177

Friends became so interested in the fan, that it became a center in the Studio that friends could explore when they were finished with their work.  There were many materials that were available to use at the fan (pinwheels, windsock, streamers, flags, etc.) and some friends even made their own to projects to put to the test.  Children wondered, noticed and continued to question the fan week after week.

DSCN7188

DSCN7206

DSCN7199

Sarah: It’s gonna blow me away!

Maceo: I’m a creation guy.  I’m drying my creation by the fan.  It dries it so fast.

Sasha: Ooooh, it makes me feel so cold!  Yay!

Abigail: Look at your dress… it’s blowing.  It’s so cold, it’s cooling off my arms.

DSCN7194

DSCN7203

Alberto: That part looks like a 3 rotary helicopter.

Rayyan: It looks like fireworks spinning from the wind!  Mine is super fast.

Jariel: Big pinwheels spin faster than little pinwheels.

Andres: It going round and round.  It out of control.

Selwyn: I’m getting dizzy!  The wheel spins and makes me dizzy.

DSCN7209

DSCN7211

Asiah: I like that fan.  It’s drying off my painting faster than the drying rack.  Then I can take it home today!

Phoenix: It’s spinning so fast I can’t even see it.

Leave a Reply

