Reflecting on my summer and gearing up for Tuesday!

The first day of school is right around the corner and I wanted to take a few minutes to share about my trip this summer, as well as post some photos of the new set up in the Studio! I hope that everyone had a fantastic summer and I can’t wait to see everyone on Tuesday.

This summer, I had the opportunity to travel to Skopelos, Greece to attend a printmaking workshop at the Skopelos Foundation of the Arts. I was lucky enough to travel with my dad, as he was teaching the painting workshop through the Foundation. This two week course focused on monoprinting, which is a process that every child in Pre-K experiences throughout the year. It’s a great way to work and the results are often quite surprising as every piece is one of a kind.

photo 1

photo 2

photo 3

I also collaborated on a woodcut that was part of a book featuring a panoramic view from the balcony of the Foundation. Seeing as I hadn’t ever carved a woodblock before, I teamed up with my dad and our print turned out great!

photo 5

photo 1

photo 2

photo 3

On our last night in Skopelos, we had an opening at the Foundation and people from all over the island came to check out what we had been up to and join for a night of eating and dancing!

photo 4

I’m so excited to incorporate some of these monoprinting techniques into my curriculum this year! Over the last couple weeks, teachers have been back to work preparing for the year. I spent a lot of time this summer thinking about ways to arrange the space in the Studio and am happy with how everything came together! Looking forward to seeing everyone on Tuesday!

DSCN5698 DSCN5701 DSCN5702 DSCN5703 photo 2

7 thoughts on “Reflecting on my summer and gearing up for Tuesday!

  1. Hey bunny. Great way to start the year, showing what you did over the summer and how it will work into the school year. And it’s a good way to get everyone excited

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. What a beautiful way to start your school year! So welcoming….thoughtful ….and informative. How lucky Cap City and the kids are to have you as part of their community. Couldn’t be prouder…..hugs

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. This will be another amazing year for children because of your thoughtfulness, knowledge and organization :). We adults benefit from your work as well, learning from you each and every day!

Leave a Reply

