“I need years to do this big painting!”

Today, the Tuesday art groups continued to work on their large resist paintings!  Friends were so excited to paint standing up and were thrilled with the new liquid watercolors available today for their resist paintings.  Children enjoyed making drips with the liquid watercolors and discovered that when different colored drips intersected, new colors were created!  Below are some photos from today, as well as children’s words… enjoy!

Image

Braeden: The drip looks like a river… or a tunnel.  It’s an orange tunnel to the Star Wars city, wheeee!

Image

Phoenix: I’m gonna make a drip spot, a green drip.  It’s part of the roller coaster… the down part.  Hey, it dripped on my hands, too!

Image

 Haley: The tape is a shield.  It means the paint wont go through.

Jasper: This painting is outer space caught on fire and now the whole world is on fire.  The orange grass is eating everything.  When the sun turns red, it means it’s really, really hot.

Image

 Mouhammadou: This is my beautiful house… here’s my doggy, Nemo.  He lost his collar.  I need an “M” for my name.  Here’s two bugs… a family of bugs.  See my pets?  An elephant, see I need a house for it.  Nemo needs a house, too.  The bugs are my other pets.  And there’s my family, right there!

Image

Minna: It’s dripping!  The new colors can drip!  Lots of drips right here.  What happens when you put the wetness on the dryness?  I’m being a scientist, this is my experiment.  What’s gonna happen?  Huh?  Oh, you can still see it!  Ms.Cushner, this is the shark.  And those are the two mouths.  That’s his eyeball, it’s big… and there’s the big wave!  It’s dark blue.  The red on the bottom is blood.  The daddy shark was fighting the biting fish all the way at the bottom, but he’s okay now.

Leave a Reply

